john shepherd aliens

The documentary tells the story of John Shepherd, who tried to contact aliens by broadcasting music into space for over 30 years with his state-of-the-art broadcasting equipment. John Shepherd's Alien Communications Project To Become Topic Of Netflix Documentary August 12, 2020 6:00 AM ‐ UFOs • Netflix 'John Was Trying To Contact Aliens' drops on Netflix on August 20 and charts the rise and fall of one man's solo mission to make contact with alien civilisations by transmitting messages into space for more than 30 years.

By then, with the help of his grandmother Irene’s life savings, Shepherd had constructed a spacious two-story laboratory next to his grandparents’ house. I was fully prepared for the short to devastate me, to act as an accidental analogy for our hopeless world where change feels as hard to realize as an eccentric, self-taught engineer blasting Kraftwerk, Tangerine Dream, Harmonia, reggae, Afrobeat, and Gamelan music into the abyss—or a deep rumination on a human obsession with the inconceivable.

So began an extraordinary 30-year journey he called Project STRAT (Special Telemetry Research and Tracking). Killip first became aware of Shepherd when he was perusing a book about UFO cults and saw a photograph of “a long-haired young man surrounded by banks of machinery with his grandma sitting beside him, knitting”. Steve Kornacki, our port in the electoral storm. And, on the clip from the Rivers show, when she mentions his lack of success, he replies: “Like an artist can continue to paint even if he doesn’t sell his paintings, I can continue to build equipment and work on ideas.” Does he think, in retrospect, he was a conceptual artist as much as a scientist?

And yet, John is more than a hobbyist—he’s an aficionado with such a deep sense of focus, it’s envious. At no point does he seem to acknowledge his avocation as any sort of failure, even when touring his old metal contraptions that now lay dormant in storage.